News Article

Golden Roses 2021: The Shortlist

Find out if your nominee has been shortlisted. 3 min read.

Golden Roses logo

Golden Roses 2021: The Shortlist

We can now reveal who's made the shortlist for the Students' Union Golden Roses for 2021.

Earlier this semester, we asked students to nominate great teaching and professional service staff at UCLan for the Preston Golden Roses student-led teaching awards. Since the close of nominations a student-led panel, along with Steph Lomas - Vice President Education and Dr. Andrew Ireland - Pro Vice-Chancellor Students and Teaching, met virtually to read through the truly amazing nominations from students.

With nearly 600 nominations to decide on, it meant it was a tough panel to be a part of this year. We’d like to say a special thank you to all the students who nominated and to our panel members for their time in reviewing all the fantastic nominations.

Congratulations to all our shortlisted nominees! Below you'll find who's been shortlisted for each award.

The awards will be presented to our winners on Thursday 20th May at 5pm, on the Students' Union YouTube channel - we hope you will watch along with us!

Lecturer of the Year

  • Jane Cleary (School of Humanities, Language & Global Studies)
  • Justin Whitty (School of Engineering)
  • Louise Speakman (School of Community Health & Midwifery)
  • Amanda Payne (School of Management)
  • Amy Parkes (School of Sport & Health Sciences)
  • Emma Blundell (Myerscough College)

Behind the Scenes Award

  • Anne Wallbank (School of Dentistry)
  • Rachel Westerbeek (School of Management)
  • John Tyndall Institute for Computational Mechanics
  • Jason Young (Security at Burnley campus)

Course Team of the Year

  • MA Professional Practice with Children and Young People (School of Social Work, Care & Community)
  • Gary Dunnagan and Simon Retford MSc Counter Terrorism (School of Justice)
  • Accounting and Finance Course Team (School of Business)
  • Kath Ward and Occupational Therapy BSc Team (School of Sport and Health Sciences)

Academic Advisor of the Year

  • Akua Joyce Quao (School of Community Health and Midwifery)
  • Jayne Mcmullan (School of Nursing)
  • Beth Richardson (School of Psychology and Computer Science)

Creative Teaching Award

  • Catherine Collin (School of Medicine)
  • Amanda Payne (School of Management)

Outstanding Feedback Award

  • Marie-Laure Orr (School of Medicine)
  • Maria Stuart (School of Arts and Media)
  • Stella Unsworth (School of Business)

Real World Learning Award

  • Daniel Cowell (Myerscough College)
  • Poppy Waters (School of Business)

Equality and Diversity Award

  • Alexa Gregson-Kenmuir (School of Arts and Media)
  • Candan Celik (School of Business)
  • Mike Greaney (School of Sport & Health Sciences)

Postgraduate Support Award

  • Stefan Birkett (School of Sport and Health Sciences)
  • Zoe Oriordan (School of Social Work, Care & Community)
  • Donna Welch (School of Community Health and Midwifery)
  • Kelly Marie Staunton (School of Humanities, Language and Global Studies)

University Service of the Year

The winner will be announced on 20th May for the University Service of the Year.

Outstanding Commitment to Student Experience Award

  • Hyojin An (School of Humanities, Language and Global Studies)
  • Penny Collinson (School of Arts & Media)
  • Cath Toase (School of Business)
  • Justin Whitty (School of Engineering)
  • Nussrat Kazmi (Burnley Campus)

Extraordinary Times Teaching Award

  • Justin Whitty (School of Engineering)
  • Nicola Nunn (School of Humanities, Language and Global Studies)
  • Sarah Louise Runcie (School of Arts and Media)
  • Maria Stuart (School of Arts & Media)


No comments have been made. Please log in to comment.

Is there anything wrong with this page? Let us know