Students' Council

Students' Council

Your Students’ Council is made up of voluntary, elected Student Reps and your Full Time Elected Officers. Every member of the Students’ Council represents the views of a different community at UCLan, and are elected by students, for students every year.

Council Members represent your views and debate constructively on key issues at meetings. They also check that your Full Time Elected Officers are keeping standards high across the Students’ Union!

The Students’ Council votes on Union policy (submitted through Your Big Ideas) and ensures that existing policies are put into action. Each Big Idea approved by the Council, is then Union policy which lasts three years.

Elections to become a member of your Students’ Council take place in March for the following year.

The Council meets three times a year, and everyone is welcome. If you’re not a member of the Students’ Council and you’d like to attend, or you’d like to find out more about how to become a member of the Council, get in touch at yourunion@uclan.ac.uk.

 

Liberation & Section Reps

Your Students’ Union has a team of five Liberation and five Section Representatives:

Liberation Reps

  • Women Students’ Representative
  • Black, Asian, Minority Ethnic (BAME) Students’ Representative
  • Disabled Students’ Representative
  • Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual (LGB) Students’ Representative
  • Trans* Students’ Representative

These Student Reps sit on Students’ Council to make sure that the voices of students who are typically marginalised are heard. They voice any concerns or issues of students from their dedicated communities at Council meetings.

Section Reps

  • International Students’ Representative
  • Postgraduate Students’ Representative
  • Ethics & Environment Representative
  • Men Students’ Representative
  • Chair of Council

The International, Postgraduate and Men’s Reps sit on Students’ Council to make sure that the voices of students from these communities are represented.

The Ethics & Environment Rep sees that the Students’ Union and University are working in a sustainable and ethical way, and the Chair of Students’ Council oversees Students’ Council democratic processes and Chairs the meetings.

Fancy getting involved with Students’ Council? You can nominate yourself to become a Rep next year when the Students’ Union Elections happen, or email us at yourunion@uclan.ac.uk to find out more.

 
Role Name Email Address
Council Chair

Usman Khan

ukhan8@uclan.ac.uk

Disabled Students Representative

Nikkita Holmes

njholmes2@uclan.ac.uk

Transgender Students Representative

Taran Harrison

yourunion@uclan.ac.uk

LGB Students Representative

Jack Wootton

jwootton1@uclan.ac.uk

BAME Students Representation

Chanda Ng'onga

cngonga@uclan.ac.uk

Women Students Representative

Charlotte Lastoweckyi

cdlastoweckyi@uclan.ac.uk

Men Students Representative

Joseph Bigland

jbigland1@uclan.ac.uk

International Students Representative

Jane Constance

jmconstance@uclan.ac.uk

Postgraduate Students Representative

Ioannis Vomvas

ivomvas@uclan.ac.uk

Enviroment and Ethics Representative

Megan Riley

mlriley2@uclan.ac.uk

Open Council

Dana Robinson

dlrobinson@uclan.ac.uk

Open Council

Andreas Georgiou

ageorgiou4@uclan.ac.uk

Open Council

Monish Mohan

mmohan1@uclan.ac.uk

Open Council

Faizah Baksh

fbaksh@uclan.ac.uk

Open Council

Shannon Gormley

sgormley@uclan.ac.uk

Burnley Students Representative

Darcey Abraham

dabraham2@uclan.ac.uk

School of Management

Vineel Gutta

vbgutta@uclan.ac.uk

School of Business

Sai Vishwanth Reddy Vem

svrvem@uclan.ac.uk

School of Justice

Jessica Crosland

jccrosland@uclan.ac.uk

School of Nursing

Adrian Craddock

arcraddock@uclan.ac.uk

School of Community Health and Midwifery

Grace Dobson

gdobson3@uclan.ac.uk

School of Psychology and Computer Science

Nana Agyenim boateng

nyoagyenim-boateng@uclan.ac.uk

School of Engineering

Jyotinder Kumar

jkumar2@uclan.ac.uk

School of Pharmacy and Biomedical Sciences

Mohammad Balal Salem

mbsalem@uclan.ac.uk

School of Humanities, Language and Global Studies

Woori Cho

wcho2@uclan.ac.uk

School of Sport and Health Sciences

(Rebekkah )Raham Ejiro Odjegba

rogorman1@uclan.ac.uk

School of Natural Sciences

Clarilis De almeida

cgcde-almeida@uclan.ac.uk

School of Art and Media

Charlotte Smith

esmith33@uclan.ac.uk

School of Humanities, Language and Global Studies

Sarah Jacobs

scpjacobs@uclan.ac.uk

School of Medicine

Sulaymaan Al Majid

sal-majid@uclan.ac.uk

School of Dentistry

Rachel Scott

rscott14@uclan.ac.uk

School of Natural Sciences

Bethany Ramsden

bramsden1@uclan.ac.uk

School of Social Work, Care and Community

Aicha Khan

akhan65@uclan.ac.uk

Faith

Vacant

Vacant

International

Wenqian Peng

wpeng2@uclan.ac.uk

Politcal & Campaigning

Kira Cauldwell

kcauldwell@uclan.ac.uk

Creative

Heather Golding

hjsgolding@uclan.ac.uk

Interest and Hobbies

Vacant

Vacent

Academic

Bethany Ramsden

bramsden1@uclan.ac.uk

Outdoor Pursuits

Vacent

Vacent

Martial Arts

Vacent

Vacent

Indoor Sports

Vacent

Vacent

Indoor Sports

Vacent

Vacent

Field Sports

Katie Singleton

ksingleton2@uclan.ac.uk

Field Sports

Vacent

Vacent

 


Key Docs

 

Agendas & Minutes

2022

2021

2020

2019

2018

 

 

 

Is there anything wrong with this page? Let us know