Students' Council

Students' Council

Your Students’ Council is made up of voluntary, elected Student Reps and your Full Time Elected Officers. Every member of the Students’ Council represents the views of a different community at UCLan, and are elected by students, for students every year.

Council Members represent your views and debate constructively on key issues at meetings. They also check that your Full Time Elected Officers are keeping standards high across the Students’ Union!

The Students’ Council votes on Union policy (submitted through Your Big Ideas) and ensures that existing policies are put into action. Each Big Idea approved by the Council, is then Union policy which lasts three years.

Elections to become a member of your Students’ Council take place in March for the following year.

The Council meets three times a year, and everyone is welcome. If you’re not a member of the Students’ Council and you’d like to attend, or you’d like to find out more about how to become a member of the Council, get in touch at yourunion@uclan.ac.uk.

 

Liberation & Section Reps

Your Students’ Union has a team of five Liberation and five Section Representatives:

Liberation Reps

  • Women Students’ Representative
  • Black, Asian, Minority Ethnic (BAME) Students’ Representative
  • Disabled Students’ Representative
  • Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual (LGB) Students’ Representative
  • Trans* Students’ Representative

These Student Reps sit on Students’ Council to make sure that the voices of students who are typically marginalised are heard. They voice any concerns or issues of students from their dedicated communities at Council meetings.

Section Reps

  • International Students’ Representative
  • Postgraduate Students’ Representative
  • Ethics & Environment Representative
  • Men Students’ Representative
  • Chair of Council

The International, Postgraduate and Men’s Reps sit on Students’ Council to make sure that the voices of students from these communities are represented.

The Ethics & Environment Rep sees that the Students’ Union and University are working in a sustainable and ethical way, and the Chair of Students’ Council oversees Students’ Council democratic processes and Chairs the meetings.

Fancy getting involved with Students’ Council? You can nominate yourself to become a Rep next year when the Students’ Union Elections happen, or email us at yourunion@uclan.ac.uk to find out more.

 

Council-Led Campaigns

Our Student Reps lead on Students’ Union Campaigns throughout the year, which can include on-campus events, online activities and promotional print.

EmpowHER
Our current Women Students’ Rep, Anjie, led the EmpowHER Campaign, which aimed to spark discussion around consent and the support for UCLan students who might encounter sexual violence and/or harassment. The campaign increased the visibility of accessible services and helplines available.

 

Black History Month
Our current BAME Students’ Rep, Odette, led the Black History Month Campaign with a month-long programme of online events. From Natural Hair workshops to a BHM podcast and several great playlists, the campaign focused on mental health, the Black Lives Matter movement and its impact on the BAME community.

 

This is Me
Our current Disabled Students’ Rep, Nikkita, led the This Is Me Campaign, which aimed to raise the profile of invisible disabilities, encourage disclosure and ensure that students with invisible disabilities are treated with the same consideration as those with visible disabilities.

 

 
Role Name Email Address
Council Chair

Han (Venkata Aditya Hanumam Ch)

vahchebiam@uclan.ac.uk

Disabled Students Representative

Nikkita Holmes

njholmes2@uclan.ac.uk

Transgender Students Representative

Alexander Robertson Smith

arsmith@uclan.ac.uk

LGB Students Representative

Jack Wootton

jwootton1@uclan.ac.uk

BME Students Representation

Odette E A Yende

oeayende@uclan.ac.uk

Women Students Representative

Ruquayat Anjola Sulaiman

RASulaiman@uclan.ac.uk

Men Students Representative

Rohan Meena

Rrmeena@uclan.ac.uk

International Students Representative

Vineel Babu Gutta

vbgutta@uclan.ac.uk

Postgraduate Students Representative

Manjunadh Gundekayala babu

mgundekayala-babu@uclan.ac.uk

Ethics and Environmental Officer

M-J McDonough

mmcdonough2@uclan.ac.uk

Open Council

Daryl Forshaw-kneen

djforshaw-kneen@uclan.ac.uk

Open Council

Suzanne Brown

sbrown23@uclan.ac.uk

Open Council

Neme Ugwuonah

cdugwuonah@uclan.ac.uk

Open Council

Hamzah Ezairjawi

hezairjawi@uclan.ac.uk

Open Council

Brandan Copeland

bmcopeland@uclan.ac.uk

Burnley Students Representative

Anantha Vaishnavi Aji Raj

avaji-raj@uclan.ac.uk

School of Management

Sai Vishwanth Reddy Vem

svrvem@uclan.ac.uk

School of Business

Charlie Smith

csmith66@uclan.ac.uk

School of Justice

Jessica Crosland

jccrosland@uclan.ac.uk

School of Nursing

Charly Blackburn

cjblackburn1@uclan.ac.uk

School of Community Health and Midwifery

Camilla Akoo

cakoo@uclan.ac.uk

School of Psychology and Computer Science

Molly Froude

mtfroude@uclan.ac.uk

School of Engineering

Jyotinder Kumar

jkumar2@uclan.ac.uk

School of Pharmacy and Biomedical Sciences

Usman Kasaba

uakasaba@uclan.ac.uk

School of Humanities, Language and Global Studies

Carly Metcalfe

cmmetcalfe@uclan.ac.uk

School of Sport and Health Sciences

Siraj Darvesh

sdarvesh1@uclan.ac.uk

School of Natural Sciences

Megan Coop

mcoop@uclan.ac.uk

School of Art and Media

Katie East

kpeast@uclan.ac.uk

School of Art and Media

Charlotte /Emma Smith

esmith33@uclan.ac.uk

School of Humanities, Language and Global Studies

Sarah Jacobs

scpjacobs@uclan.ac.uk

School of Medicine

Hugo Labat

hvlabat@uclan.ac.uk

School of Dentistry

Henry Swales

hswales1@uclan.ac.uk

School of Natural Sciences

Bethany Ramsden

bramsden1@uclan.ac.uk

School of Social Work, Care and Community

Michael Tarpey

mtarpey@uclan.ac.uk

Faith

Ali Mahmood

asmahmood1@uclan.ac.uk

International

Bowen Han

bwhan@uclan.ac.uk

Politcal & Campaigning

Vacant

Creative

Henil Jitendra Shah

hjshah@uclan.ac.uk

Interest and Hobbies

Shannon Gormley

sgormley@uclan.ac.uk

Academic

Bethany Ramsden

bramsden1@uclan.ac.uk

Outdoor Pursuits

Adam Ward

ajward1@uclan.ac.uk

Martial Arts

Daniel Ashby

dashby1@uclan.ac.uk

Indoor Sports

Amelia Sykes

asykes4@uclan.ac.uk

Indoor Sports

Abigail Gent

agent2@uclan.ac.uk

Field Sports

Jordan Court

jjcourt@uclan.ac.uk

Field Sports

Colm Clarke

cclarke5@uclan.ac.uk

 

Key Docs

 

Action Points 

2020

2019

2018